PART 1

Hola from el campo!!!

Leaving the CCM was crazy, but it’s all good. The last week in the CCM was great and I learned so much. It definitely doesn’t feel like I’ve already been here in Peru for 6 weeks, but here we are. My teachers and district in the CCM were the best and I’m going to miss those jokers. Right now, my Spanish is alright and now getting thrown into it 24/7 is hopefully going to help me get way better real quick.

Today we just drove about an hour to our mission office here in Lima and had some training things and interviews with Presidente Larson and filled out paperwork. All the fun things. Presidente and Hermana Larson are from Idaho.

Some facts about the mission according to what people told me today, it’s the smallest proselyting mission in the world- smallest after temple square in Salt Lake City and it’s about 10 miles across. We’ve got about 175 missionaries total, and only about 20-ish are Hermanas. Also, I think our mission scripture or theme or something is 3 Nefi 5:13, which is the scripture on my plaque at home! I love that scripture so much.

My companion is Hermana Machuruti from Tarija, Bolivia. She has been out for 9 months and is 24-years-old and has never trained before and doesn’t speak any English so this is going to be interesante. She’s super sweet though and it looks like we’ve got a lot of things to do and people to teach. My sector is called Cayetano Heredia 1. I don’t know much about it except my compañera said the ward is pretty small. Also, in terms of area our sector is tiny; just a couple blocks. Tonight we’re going to go teach 4 appointments and an English class so pray for me because this just got so real today and it’s going to be crazy hard but I know it’s going to be so worth it. I read Moroni Chapter 6  today and it’s all about baptism. I love that through baptism people can come closer to Christ as they take His name upon them and I’m so excited to be a missionary here in Peru and hopefully help people make that step of faith in following their Savior!

P-day is Monday, so I’ll be able to write again then! Love y’all!

-Hermana Erickson

 

IMG_3616
Hermana Erickson with Presidente and Hermana Larson
IMG_3624
Hermana Erickson arrives in La Misión Perú Lima Central

PART 2

Excerpt from 2nd e-mail.

Unfortunately, it’s not Wednesday, my dudes. But it is my first day here in the field!!! HOLY MOLY.

Today has been surprisingly good, meaning I’ve survived so far. I was super nervous to leave the CCM, but now that I’m out here I’m sure its going to be great. I’m excited.

Anyways, I just wanted to write y’all and say how much I love and appreciate each of you. Thanks for everything! I hope all is well at home with job interviews and school and rugby and family visiting and wedding receptions and all that jazz. Have so much fun!

In regards to the weather, apparently there’s been a lot of rains and flooding here in Peru recently. A lot of areas, including here in Lima, were without water for like 5 days this past week, but it’s better now. The missionaries who were supposed to go to Trujillo [from the CCM] couldn’t go because of the conditions there, but everything is alright here. It’s real unfortunate that people are suffering but I’m hoping that it’ll allow us to do some service and that people’s hearts will be prepared to listen to our message as a result of the circumstances.

Love y’all!!!

PART 3

The following is an excerpt from an e-mail received from President and Sister Larson regarding Rachel’s safe arrival in the Lima Central Mission.

Dear Erickson Family,

We are delighted to report to you that your daughter, Sister Rachel Irene Erickson, has arrived to begin her service in La Misión Perú Lima Central. She looks great, is healthy, and is very excited to begin her service. We are thrilled to receive her and we will take good care of her. It was our privilege to share breakfast and lunch with her while she was being interviewed and trained in the mission office.

We thank you for the support that you give to your daughter during her mission. Sister Erickson will look forward to positive, uplifting letters from home. We ask that she corresponds with you weekly, and we encourage you to do the same, using the e-mail address she will give you if you do not already have it (the same one she used at the CCM).

We will watch over your daughter during this time in which she will be serving the Lord in this important work. We also know that your family will be blessed by her service.

Con Cariño,

Presidente Stephen J. Larson & Hermana Becky Larson

Misión Perú Lima Central

PART 4

Pictures from the CCM

P1000081P1000097

