Today we had P-day with a bunch of the Hermanas. We all went to the center of Lima and took one of those open-top sightseeing buses to the top of Cerrro San Cristobal. It was super cool, you can see all of Lima, and all the pollution. There’s a 20m high cross at the top. I didn’t catch all the history they were telling me in Spanish but it was fun nonetheless.

This week we had a multizone conference in the mission offices. It was super good, learned a lot, yay! On the bus ride back we were with 2 other sisters from our zone and one Hermana is such a good example to me because she just starts chatting with the guy next to her. So I’m thinking of how I can do the same with the guy next to me who’s playing Pokemon Go. So I start off by asking him which is his favorite Pokemon and then was able to explain a little about the Church and the Book of Mormon. So, a shout-out to my brothers and their endless hours of playing Pokemon for helping me be able to talk to some guy on the bus about Gyarados and Charizard.

Hate to say it [because I’ve always disliked seafood/fish] but this week I ate some fish and actually enjoyed it :) Our pensionista also runs a cevicheria so it was only a matter of time before we ate some sort of fish (we can’t eat ceviche though)

It’s a struggle to remember what happened this week because every week goes by so fast. Honestly, I feel like it’s Sunday and then the next day is Sunday again.

To learn vocabulary, my companion and I think of random words that rhyme and learn them in Spanish and English. Phrase of the week. When someone is being dumb you can call them cabeza de arcachofa – artichoke head.

This week my favorite scripture is 2 Nefi 2:24. I love the entire chapter about the Plan of Salvation but this one is especially comforting to know that God has a plan for everything in our lives.

We were able to teach the plan of salvation a couple times this week and it always helps me have a greater appreciation for the Plan of God and the knowledge we have to be happy through the gospel.

I will try to send pictures but this computer is ratchet so well see how it goes. [Editor’s Note: No Pictures]

Love you all!

Hermana Erickson

The Following are Excerpts from E-mail to Family Members:

I am happy. life is pretty good. At times this week, I was kinda thinking “What am I doing here in Peru?” It could have been so much easier to be a missionary in the states where at least people speak English and I can go to Walmart. But honestly, I love it here. LOVE YOU SO MUCH! Thanks for everything. Next week (?) we’ll have to coordinate the Skype for Mother’s Day. Or the next Monday, IDK but ahead of time is always good.

I saw my MTC teacher Hermano Castillo this week and he came to the English class I was teaching and it was way funny. Turns out he served in the same mission with Raquel, one of my roommates from last semester! Crazy. (The Mormon world is especially small)

In response to news Elder Uceda, a Lima native, visited Georgia: That is so cool! Everyone here LOVES Elder Uceda. His son is a bishop in one of the wards that my comp was in and she says that ward is ¡vale! because he’s so strict and on top of things. I heard Elders Ballard and Rasband came to the stake! How cool is that!

Please tell Brad and Morgan congrats on their graduations!!! I’m so happy for them, and thankful for the fun time we got to have at BYU together during Fall semester.

If you want to send me a recipe for banana bread, I would love it. With degrees Celcius, por favor.

